Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?  (Read 373 times)

craig.w

  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« on: July 09, 2019, 09:30:17 AM »
Hello,

Is there a limit of one UG per ambush card or can you have multiple UGs as long as they are deployed contiguously and not closer to the enemy (ie lined up behind the first UG)?

Thanks

Simon Meg-Meister

  • TWZ Team
  • Magister
  • *
  • Posts: 1322
  • TWZ founder, MeG author and lifelong wargamer
    • View Profile
    • The Wargames Zone
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2019, 10:50:36 AM »
Nothing to stop you having 2 per card but of course much greater risk of not being able to fulfill the ambush deployment rules.

S
Rolling Skulls in the land or Purple

nikgaukroger

  • TWZ Team
  • Magister
  • *
  • Posts: 1584
    • View Profile
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2019, 11:01:54 AM »
You sure about that?

The rules say you note the "UG number from your Army Builder" - singular.
"The Roman Empire was not murdered and nor did it die a natural death; it accidentally committed suicide."

craig.w

  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2019, 11:56:41 AM »
You sure about that?

The rules say you note the "UG number from your Army Builder" - singular.

That's why I thought it might be only one UG but it doesn't actually say there is a one UG limit so then I thought can you ambush with 4 UGs all behind each other?

nikgaukroger

  • TWZ Team
  • Magister
  • *
  • Posts: 1584
    • View Profile
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2019, 11:59:19 AM »
If the wording is singular surely that is effectively saying 1 UG per card?
"The Roman Empire was not murdered and nor did it die a natural death; it accidentally committed suicide."

mad lemmey

  • MeG Moderator
  • Tribunus
  • *
  • Posts: 626
    • View Profile
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2019, 12:12:52 PM »
I've always had two, but I'm sure I saw Simon launch 3 once (in the early days, when dice were hand drawn).
List bounced...

Hunter

  • Centurion
  • *
  • Posts: 314
    • View Profile
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2019, 02:24:31 PM »
I've always had two, but I'm sure I saw Simon launch 3 once (in the early days, when dice were hand drawn).

Mine still are - how else do you think I skulled your CIC?
HH
Dishonour before defeat!

Simon Meg-Meister

  • TWZ Team
  • Magister
  • *
  • Posts: 1322
  • TWZ founder, MeG author and lifelong wargamer
    • View Profile
    • The Wargames Zone
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2019, 03:47:38 PM »
True enough the rules do actually say UG number singular so it is one after all.
Not something I thought much about I have to say.

Si
Rolling Skulls in the land or Purple

mad lemmey

  • MeG Moderator
  • Tribunus
  • *
  • Posts: 626
    • View Profile
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2019, 05:06:01 PM »
Nooooooooo, that ruins everything!  ;) ;D
« Last Edit: July 09, 2019, 05:15:33 PM by mad lemmey »
List bounced...

Simon Meg-Meister

  • TWZ Team
  • Magister
  • *
  • Posts: 1322
  • TWZ founder, MeG author and lifelong wargamer
    • View Profile
    • The Wargames Zone
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2019, 07:07:07 PM »
I will go put my head in a bucket ... of gin and tonic!

S
Rolling Skulls in the land or Purple

aphilla

  • Psiloi
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2019, 04:46:24 PM »
I read these rules for the first time just the other day and had a couple of additional questions.  On this question I read the rules as 1 per card.  In future clarries it might be interesting to have more, fwiw.

My two questions though are:
- what does line 7 mean?  I think it's that when you put your generals down, you say which general owns the ambush card (like which general owns which UGs).  Is that correct?
- do you use a larger card when you are playing in 25mm?  what should its dimensions be?



Simon Meg-Meister

  • TWZ Team
  • Magister
  • *
  • Posts: 1322
  • TWZ founder, MeG author and lifelong wargamer
    • View Profile
    • The Wargames Zone
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2019, 05:20:47 PM »
Card same for both scales for simplicity.
Yes indeed you declare which general controls the ambush.

S
Rolling Skulls in the land or Purple

craig.w

  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2019, 02:10:48 PM »
A couple more questions on ambushes ;)

I have deployed 3 ambush cards all next to each other. The general of the three UGs is with the middle UG. The rules say:

"5. A general can ambush but only if all UGs under his command are in ambush."

and

"12. For other actions [apart from charging and shooting] UGs are considered to be Out of Command until they have  moved, unless their general is with them."

Does this mean that in my situation:

a) only the middle UG counts as in command, or

b) all his ambushing UGs are in command?

If a), can they still move as a block move because when they deploy the UGs are in base to base contact and meet the requirements of a block move?

Thanks,

Craig

marshalney2000

  • Centurion
  • *
  • Posts: 310
    • View Profile
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2019, 02:11:49 PM »
My understanding is that only the unit he is with is in command.

Simon Meg-Meister

  • TWZ Team
  • Magister
  • *
  • Posts: 1322
  • TWZ founder, MeG author and lifelong wargamer
    • View Profile
    • The Wargames Zone
Re: Ambush - is it 1 UG per card?
« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2019, 06:13:05 PM »
Indeed.
His entire command has to be in ambush and then he is in command only for the UG he is with - i.e. that card.
Only done it once with Mediocre and 3 cards with 2 UGs.

S
Rolling Skulls in the land or Purple