Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Generals mishaps  (Read 666 times)

LawrenceG

  • Centurion
  • *
  • Posts: 432
    • View Profile
    • Travel Terrain shop
Generals mishaps
« on: January 28, 2023, 11:37:17 PM »
Just seeking confirmation I understand the rules as written:

General dies, he has UGs remaining:
Placed by camp with cards.
Cannot move.
He is not downgraded yet. 
Can play cards (out of command) but not discard them.
Is dealt cards as normal.
Not specified if he can gift or be gifted cards.
At the appointed time, he becomes the replacement general, is downgraded and placed with any UG in his command.

General dies, he has no UGs remaining:
Placed by camp with cards.
Cannot move.
He is not downgraded. 
Can play cards (out of command) but not discard them. (in practice only professionals can play cards)
Is never dealt new cards.
Not specified if he can gift or be gifted cards.
Is never placed with an UG.

General still alive, but no UGs remaining.
Functions as normal.

tarnowski1

  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: Generals mishaps
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2023, 10:08:05 PM »
I'd argue until the replacement general appears no cards are dealt to that command, nor can gift or be gifted to.

'The active player shuffles the pack putting
back any discards from the previous turn, and deals cards to take each general back up to
their 2/3/4/5 allowance'

There currently isn't a general at that point.

Regards
Matt

tarnowski1

  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: Generals mishaps
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2023, 10:14:39 PM »
though its ambigious to say the least

'1.6. The replacement general is placed with any UG in their command. If there are no UGs
remaining in the command, then no replacement general appears and no cards are
dealt.' 

does that suggest that if Ugs exist, only after the replacement General appears that cards are dealt?

'1.7. Actions can still be prompted while waiting for a replacement general to arrive but each
action requires an extra coloured card as everything is out of command.'

making it clear you dont need a General to make actions but doesn't say if they are new cards or the cards the old General might have been holding when he got sat on by an elephant

lionheartrjc

  • TWZ Team
  • Imperator
  • *
  • Posts: 2299
    • View Profile
Re: Generals mishaps
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2023, 10:51:00 AM »
I am not sure that this is how it has been played in UK competitions, but I must admit that the rules do say cards are dealt for each general and if the replacement general hasn't arrived then there is no general to deal cards to...

Personally - I actually think that would be an improvement on the way it is currently played (which has been to deal cards even if the general has been killed!).

Richard

nikgaukroger

  • TWZ Team
  • Imperator
  • *
  • Posts: 3951
    • View Profile
Re: Generals mishaps
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2023, 12:32:33 PM »
I would tend to agree  ;D
"The Roman Empire was not murdered and nor did it die a natural death; it accidentally committed suicide."

nikgaukroger

  • TWZ Team
  • Imperator
  • *
  • Posts: 3951
    • View Profile
Re: Generals mishaps
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2023, 12:44:44 PM »

'1.7. Actions can still be prompted while waiting for a replacement general to arrive but each
action requires an extra coloured card as everything is out of command.'

making it clear you dont need a General to make actions but doesn't say if they are new cards or the cards the old General might have been holding when he got sat on by an elephant

I'd also note that it just talks about prompting actions and not discards.
"The Roman Empire was not murdered and nor did it die a natural death; it accidentally committed suicide."

LawrenceG

  • Centurion
  • *
  • Posts: 432
    • View Profile
    • Travel Terrain shop
Re: Generals mishaps
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2023, 12:48:53 PM »
I am not sure that this is how it has been played in UK competitions, but I must admit that the rules do say cards are dealt for each general and if the replacement general hasn't arrived then there is no general to deal cards to...

Personally - I actually think that would be an improvement on the way it is currently played (which has been to deal cards even if the general has been killed!).

Richard

That would make it quite likely that a professional replacement would arrive with no cards, so the advantage of arriving earlier than an instinctive would be substantially negated.

badhabum

  • Imperator
  • *
  • Posts: 2125
    • View Profile
Re: Generals mishaps
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2023, 03:03:09 PM »
On the other hand, if you give NO cards to a replacement general there is very little benefit for being professional coming back at the beginning of the movement phase .

I had a look at the compendium pg 74 ( 8. play a turn ) and it is clearly stated : 1.2 that you deal cards to all generals INCLUDING  dead general
It's also on the QRS , turn sequence 1.2

But for some reason I could not find it in the PDF

LawrenceG

  • Centurion
  • *
  • Posts: 432
    • View Profile
    • Travel Terrain shop
Re: Generals mishaps
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2023, 03:12:01 PM »

I had a look at the compendium pg 74 ( 8. play a turn ) and it is clearly stated : 1.2 that you deal cards to all generals INCLUDING  dead general
It's also on the QRS , turn sequence 1.2

But for some reason I could not find it in the PDF

The QRS at the end of the PDF has it.
PDF main text 1.B  has cards dealt in SP1.1 and SP1.2 but, neither explicitly mentions dead generals.

badhabum

  • Imperator
  • *
  • Posts: 2125
    • View Profile
Re: Generals mishaps
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2023, 03:22:34 PM »
QRS supersede rules so you have your answer

One more possible erratum

nikgaukroger

  • TWZ Team
  • Imperator
  • *
  • Posts: 3951
    • View Profile
Re: Generals mishaps
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2023, 03:38:40 PM »
QRS supersede rules so you have your answer

I wouldn't hold that to be an absolute rule, we have changed the QRS to match the main rules on occasion.
"The Roman Empire was not murdered and nor did it die a natural death; it accidentally committed suicide."

nikgaukroger

  • TWZ Team
  • Imperator
  • *
  • Posts: 3951
    • View Profile
Re: Generals mishaps
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2023, 03:42:11 PM »

I had a look at the compendium pg 74 ( 8. play a turn ) and it is clearly stated : 1.2 that you deal cards to all generals INCLUDING  dead general
It's also on the QRS , turn sequence 1.2

But for some reason I could not find it in the PDF

The QRS at the end of the PDF has it.
PDF main text 1.B  has cards dealt in SP1.1 and SP1.2 but, neither explicitly mentions dead generals.

Thanks to both for this.

Means that it is being played in line with the QRS which is useful  ;D

A few words to be inserted at update time methinks.
"The Roman Empire was not murdered and nor did it die a natural death; it accidentally committed suicide."