Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Camp Kills on the flank  (Read 46 times)


  • Psiloi
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Camp Kills on the flank
« on: February 11, 2019, 04:09:14 PM »
Just a note as I have had time to think on this one.
a camp is 3 bases like so

if hit from the flank, even by multiple attackers, there is only one base in contact and so it cannot be removed as a casualty.

From the front you can of course kill a base in contact as long as you remain in contact.

Sorry Sid!
Though I'm sure you wont mind since you won the game by killing my camp anyway!


  • TWZ Team
  • Auxilia
  • *
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: Camp Kills on the flank
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2019, 05:47:43 PM »
Note:  The rules for fighting a camp say that it treats all of its edges as a front edge and it can fight once for each 1BW of its edge, with any free BW counting as a supporting file. (p100).  I've seen people get this wrong.

So a camp hit on its "flank" actually fights with 2 dice, not a single dice.  In fact, a camp could fight back with 10 dice (it would have to be mobile and contacted on all four of its edges...) 3 on each long edge and 2 on edge short edge.  Now that would be some combat!   


« Last Edit: February 11, 2019, 05:50:31 PM by lionheartrjc »

Simon Meg-Meister

  • TWZ Team
  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 121
  • TWZ founder, MeG author and lifelong wargamer
    • View Profile
    • The Wargames Zone
Re: Camp Kills on the flank
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2019, 07:50:40 AM »
Yes indeed .... as per RJC.
10 fights from a camp would be something to behold.
I have seen 6 once.

Rolling Skulls in the land or Purple