Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Questions from OOTDAs  (Read 121 times)

mad lemmey

  • MeG Moderator
  • Auxilia
  • *
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Questions from OOTDAs
« on: February 11, 2019, 08:01:26 AM »
*tongue in cheek*  :-*
As none of the Holy Trinity could make it to Stockport this weekend, and I had the short straw of umpiring, please put all your clearly explained complaints about my attempts here, and the triumvirate can tell me how wrong I was!
*tongue out of cheek*  ;D

Well, I did my best, but gosh you guys came up with some corkers. Thanks for a great weekend.  :-*
« Last Edit: February 11, 2019, 09:27:43 AM by mad lemmey »

Simon Meg-Meister

  • TWZ Team
  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 121
  • TWZ founder, MeG author and lifelong wargamer
    • View Profile
    • The Wargames Zone
Re: Questions from OOTDAs
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2019, 08:50:58 AM »
Look forward to those conundrums then ... lovely  ;D
Hope the comp was fun for all - looked it.
Keen to see the results and to get the lists.

Si
Rolling Skulls in the land or Purple

mad lemmey

  • MeG Moderator
  • Auxilia
  • *
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: Questions from OOTDAs
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2019, 10:15:19 AM »
Question on shoot and charge:
If s&c targets unit a, but unit b intercepts, the shots still go in on a?

nikgaukroger

  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
Re: Questions from OOTDAs
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2019, 10:25:19 AM »
Question on shoot and charge:
If s&c targets unit a, but unit b intercepts, the shots still go in on a?

With Shoot & Charge the shooting dice are rolled at the point you declare the charge - think that sorts that one  8)
"The Roman Empire was not murdered and nor did it die a natural death; it accidentally committed suicide."

Simon Meg-Meister

  • TWZ Team
  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 121
  • TWZ founder, MeG author and lifelong wargamer
    • View Profile
    • The Wargames Zone
Re: Questions from OOTDAs
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2019, 01:03:43 PM »
And deliberately so to exactly deal with that issue.  ;) 8)
So you can get in the way of the charge but you can't block the arrows.

S
Rolling Skulls in the land or Purple

mad lemmey

  • MeG Moderator
  • Auxilia
  • *
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: Questions from OOTDAs
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2019, 06:27:03 PM »
Tugs a & b are adjacent with about 1.25558742 bw gap. The enemy line is in front of this.
Tug c, in 2 wide column, with dev charge, is in range of the enemy line through said gap.
I ruled it could not go through the gap and reform after.
(I actually ruled it could not because there was no way to fit all the bases in real life).
Was I correct?

badhabum

  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Questions from OOTDAs
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2019, 08:32:03 PM »
Now I know who mad lełłey is  :D

Thanks for umpiring

lionheartrjc

  • TWZ Team
  • Auxilia
  • *
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: Questions from OOTDAs
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2019, 07:05:48 AM »
Tugs a & b are adjacent with about 1.25558742 bw gap. The enemy line is in front of this.
Tug c, in 2 wide column, with dev charge, is in range of the enemy line through said gap.
I ruled it could not go through the gap and reform after.
(I actually ruled it could not because there was no way to fit all the bases in real life).
Was I correct?

Definitely sounds correct.  To go through a gap in a charge you have to remain at least 2BW wide. (9.4A6.2 p70). 


p.s.  If the gap was about 1.25558742 BW then your measuring sticks are a lot more accurate than mine!    Also - wargaming tables do not conform to Euclidian geometry!  Two units moving in parallel that start 1BW apart do not end up 1BW apart.  Richard's first rule of wargames measurement...

Simon Meg-Meister

  • TWZ Team
  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 121
  • TWZ founder, MeG author and lifelong wargamer
    • View Profile
    • The Wargames Zone
Re: Questions from OOTDAs
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2019, 07:56:25 AM »
Minimum frontage is always 2BW in MeG.  No columns other than Battle Wagons as an appropriate case.
Never have been. Never will be.

So yes the contraction is a allowed to a minimum of 2BW frontage.

So I make it the gaps was 0.7441258BW too narrow alas!

Si
Rolling Skulls in the land or Purple

mad lemmey

  • MeG Moderator
  • Auxilia
  • *
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: Questions from OOTDAs
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2019, 10:42:36 AM »
Thanks gents.


Yay! I actually got one right!!!  ;D

Simon Meg-Meister

  • TWZ Team
  • Legionary
  • *
  • Posts: 121
  • TWZ founder, MeG author and lifelong wargamer
    • View Profile
    • The Wargames Zone
Re: Questions from OOTDAs
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2019, 07:17:59 PM »
Earning a level 1 umpires badge you see...
Rolling Skulls in the land or Purple