Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
1
List Queries / Re: 5515 Burgundian Ordonnance
« Last post by lionheartrjc on April 16, 2024, 02:23:12 PM »
It was an experimental formation and not successful - hence the classification.

Richard
2
List Queries / Re: 5515 Burgundian Ordonnance
« Last post by Glactophagos on April 16, 2024, 01:30:54 PM »
Ok, a follow-up question:

What's the consideration for downgrading both the pikemen (to combat shy) and the longbowmen (to unskilled) in this set-up?

Given the line 'The mounted archers were ordered on occasion to combine with pikes in a mixed formation' I assume those longbowmen are the otherwise Mounted Ordonnance Longbowmen? They are normally experienced powerbow.
The pikemen are presumably the Ordonnance pikemen? They are normally not combat shy.

Do they cramp each other's style, or what is the motivation for the downgrade, if you don't mind me asking?
3
List Queries / Re: 5515 Burgundian Ordonnance
« Last post by Glactophagos on April 16, 2024, 11:26:29 AM »
Cheers!
4
List Queries / Re: 5515 Burgundian Ordonnance
« Last post by lionheartrjc on April 16, 2024, 11:16:14 AM »
1)  Yes, but note that the pikemen do not have to be deployed in 2 ranks.
2)  ReG is irrelevant.  The longbowmen can deploy in any rank   If by "protection" you mean, do the longbowmen cancel factors as if they were pikemen then the answer is no. 

The most common deployment could be two wide and four deep.
PP
PP
LL
LL

The mixed UG could be deployed as four wide and two deep.
PLLP
PLLP

(Note:  If an enemy UG only contacted in melee the left-hand file of pike, an MF1 move could move the remaining two pike from the right-hand file and place them behind the left-hand pike, creating a file 4 deep).

Alternatively, it could deploy four wide and one/three deep as
PPPP
 LL
 LL
This probably isn't very useful.

Richard
5
List Queries / 5515 Burgundian Ordonnance
« Last post by Glactophagos on April 16, 2024, 10:28:34 AM »
I'd like to check a few things about the option:
'Replace pikemen and longbowmen with mixed TUG comprising 4 pikemen and 4 longbowmen'.

1) Am I correct in thinking that, as they are now only two ranks deep, the pikemen effectively function as long spear rather than pike?
2) Are the longbowmen literally in the back ranks, or considered to be intermixed? And if they are in the back ranks, do they still enjoy the protection of the pike/longspear? (yes, I play ReG, hence the question,  ;D)

Cheers,
Huub
6
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Re: skirmishing: fleeing question
« Last post by badhabum on April 15, 2024, 08:46:05 PM »
 :)
7
Name changed Doctor,
Second list in.
8
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Re: Generalís upgrade for a skirmish move?
« Last post by nikgaukroger on April 15, 2024, 06:58:38 PM »
The glossary entry on Prompting Through Fire tells you what that can be used for (as does the rules section on it, but the glossary entry is shorter  :D ).
9
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Re: Generalís upgrade for a skirmish move?
« Last post by nikgaukroger on April 15, 2024, 06:53:53 PM »
Reduction in movement distance on the variable movement die roll is not a Slow and so cannot be prompted through.
10
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Generalís upgrade for a skirmish move?
« Last post by AntiokosIII on April 15, 2024, 06:00:53 PM »
A shooting unit is charged and decides to skirmish away. The unit has a general with it. The unit rolls a 1 on the evade, but the general has a yellow card, upgrades it to red, pushes through the Dow roll, and the unit escapes. We thought this was legal, but I promised to post the question here to make sure.

Now If I could just remember the other question I said I would postÖ.

Thanks
Dave
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10