Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - LawrenceG

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Shooting at countercharge/intercept
« on: January 25, 2023, 03:22:21 PM »
Does shooting at countercharge/intercept take place in SP2.4 (if so, it's not in the QRS sequence) before they move, or in SP2.5 after they have moved (if so, I assume it is too late to slow their countercharge/intercept move, but it could slow their pursuit if they break their opponent this turn) ?

5.L.3.2  "Once shooting has been done, make a variable move distance roll.”
5.L.3.3 "Then decide along which of the following three directions to move:”

5.L.3.4.4 “As VMD is rolled after choosing direction”    i.e the opposite of the above.

Which one is it?

Player Discussion / TuG a SuG limits
« on: January 23, 2023, 10:06:51 AM »
I'm curious why the TuG a SuG rule was formulated in such a way that TuG B can tug SuG A but not SuG C.

PBS5.E.3.1 and PBS5.F.1 say flank marches and ambushes are set up "after the outscouting deployment" or "after the initial deployment done by an outscouted player "

If there was no outscouting, so there is no outscouted player, does this mean you cannot do flank marches or ambushes?

Player Discussion / Intermediate UG sizes
« on: January 18, 2023, 09:27:52 AM »
By "Intermediate UG sizes" I mean if an UG is allowed to be 6 or 9, then 7 or 8 would be an intermediate size.

I'm curious why they are not allowed.

I can't be the only one whose army design iterations often end up with enough spare points to buy one  base, but I'm not allowed to buy it.

Rules Queries and Clarifications / Base sizes - pdf
« on: January 15, 2023, 12:15:21 PM »
Where in the pdf rules does it say all bases have to be the same width?

Where does it say (or suggest) what base size to use?

Rules Queries and Clarifications / Definition MIA?
« on: January 12, 2023, 11:55:02 AM »
The start of chapter 6 in the pdf has:

"A contiguous set of files of either side that are fighting - so a line can be traced between all files of
either side that are fighting without going out of fighting UGs."

This looks like the definition of something (what?) and maybe belongs in the glossary.

Rules Queries and Clarifications / C1 withdrawing skirmishers
« on: January 12, 2023, 11:31:36 AM »
1. Friendly SuGs must be moved out of the way but only to allow friendly UGs to charge using a
C1 prompted action. This occurs at the start of the charge phase (SP2.1).
2. The move must be a WHITE move from the SuGs column. Note: This prevents the SuG from
falling back, it must turn 180o and move.
3. UGs that are capable of charging because a friendly SuG has withdrawn are not obliged to
declare a charge. If forced, they may still use a C3 action to stop forced charges.

1 indicates to me that the C1 can only be done to allow an actual charge.
3 indicates that just because one UG charges, that doesn't mean everyone has to. But it might mean nobody has to (i.e.  1 means C1 can be done to make a charge possible in theory, even if it doesn't happen in practice).

1 (because it says "must") means if I know a forced charge is coming, I have to move the SUG out of the way, I can't save that card for something else. Or maybe I can't use C1 in this case because C1 would not be  "to allow" the charge - the charge is already allowed. In the alternative intepretation of 1 (charge is theoretical), I have to move the SUG out of the way even if I have no intention of charging, or, indeed, don't have the cards needed to prompt a charge.

By the way, 1 doesn't parse correctly. It should be :

1. Friendly SuGs must be moved out of the way using a C1 prompted action, but only to allow friendly UGs to charge. This occurs at the start of the charge phase (SP2.1).

Rules Queries and Clarifications / Ambush revealing and shooting
« on: January 12, 2023, 10:18:15 AM »
12 A

4. For other actions ambushing UGs are out of command until they have moved unless their
general is with them in ambush. They may not be revealed unless they are moved in some
way or are discovered by enemy.
5. Troops in ambush may shoot at any enemy who come in range and arc and must be revealed
on table immediately before doing so.

4 says it is prohibited to reveal them, 5 says it's compulsory.

I assume 4 is intended as " ... They may not be revealed unless they are moved in some
way, are discovered by enemy, or immediately before shooting."

I infer that an ambush that has been revealed by shooting or discovery is still out of command as it hasn't moved (that's explicit).
Not sure if a general who moves to join the UG in that state is "with them in ambush" within the meaning of the rule. 

Rules Queries and Clarifications / 2023 army lists
« on: January 07, 2023, 06:00:52 PM »
Are the lists downloadable via https://mortem-et-gloriam.co.uk/smf/index.php?topic=2699.msg19305#new now the "official" instead of "preview" versions, identical to the ones on the MeG website "Armies" menu?

List Queries / Tibetan Exorcists
« on: December 22, 2022, 06:22:15 PM »
Tibetan Exorcists

Has anyone used these? They look like the worst value ever.

40 extra points per base in the unit and only makes a difference if a base with average unprotected nothing that has to fight in every round of combat somehow survives long enough for more than half the unit to be wiped out around him.

List Queries / Regrading compulsory troops.
« on: December 10, 2022, 10:50:32 AM »

I take the minimum required of troop type X.

The army list allows me to regrade some X to Y.

If I regrade some, have I still met the minimum requirements for X?

Example: 3534 Khazar

"Royal Army Horse Archers" have a minimum of 8

"Regrade Royal Army troops fighting like Muslims" has a max of 8.

So would it be legal to take 0 "horse archers" and 8 "fighting like Muslims"?

List Queries / Suggestion for new Army Builder
« on: December 03, 2022, 11:35:44 AM »
In the drop-down menu of list book names, prefix them with the list book numbers.

Or you could just get rid of this box altogether as the list checker can see from the 4-digit army list number in the next box which book it is.

I'm curious if there is a game design reason for choosing to make skirmishers need 3 ranks to be effective but with a breakpoint of 1/3.

It seems to me they would function almost identically if they were effective in 2 ranks and broke on 1/2 (the same as TUGs),  numbers and SUG sizes were reduced by 1/3 and points increased by 3/2 (so same cost per effective base frontage).

List Queries / Byzantine allies for Bagratid Armenians?
« on: September 27, 2022, 09:18:36 AM »
I wonder whether the Bagratids should get Byzantine allies, at least for part of their period?


I haven't found any sources more detailed than the above.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5