Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - LawrenceG

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
16
List Queries / 2512 Later Campanian
« on: October 11, 2023, 04:03:37 PM »
From 275 BCE How can you take the minimum 10 hastati and principes when the UG size is 4,8 ?

17
Player Discussion / What's wrong with Pike?
« on: September 26, 2023, 11:16:51 AM »
Looking at the cost of Pike vs Long Spear, I see they are only about 1% more expensive.

Given that Pike are identical to Long Spear plus the option of upgrades if they are 3 or 4 deep, what is the disadvantage that justifies the extra cost being negligible?

18
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Artillery SuGs
« on: September 24, 2023, 02:31:20 PM »
(pdf 13.D.3)

What exactly is a "pivot behind barricades"?


As far as I can see, artillery are pushed back by enemy TUGs that would contact them with a first move in the  movement phase. Or does 13.D.3 prohibit this on the basis that it would be "movement by artillery" not done with an M15?

19
Player Discussion / 2023-10-07/08 SKULLROLLERS travel
« on: August 17, 2023, 09:41:46 AM »
Is anyone from Kent driving up to the 7/8 October Skullrollers and possibly able to give me a lift? If so, where are you staying?

20
List Queries / Sertorian Spanish - Roman allies
« on: July 16, 2023, 08:24:44 AM »
The  list note is
Quote
A Roman ally can only contain Average or Poor legionaries.

Is the intention:
Quote
A Roman ally can only contain legionaries and they must be Average or Poor?
or
Quote
All legionaries contained in a Roman ally must be Average or Poor. The contingent can contain other troops?

I note that legionaries are the only troops in the LRR list that can be anything other than average or poor, so the equivalent to the second one is
Quote
All troops contained in a Roman ally must be Average or Poor.

21
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Pushing the bounds on MF1
« on: April 21, 2023, 02:15:55 PM »
With MF1 can you:

Move a base into the second rank of a file that already has 2 ranks, with the original 2nd rank base becoming the new 3rd rank? (useful in mixed TUGs)


Move a base of TUG A to form a 2nd rank behind a front rank base of an adjacent UG B? (so if the front rank dies, TuG A will take over fighting).

22
Suppose I have a supporting file of 2 ranks foot long spear fighting mounted melee expert.

Is the supporting file calculated as +2 for long spear vs nothing (ME cancelled), then downgraded a colour?

Or if the mounted opponent's ME counted against whatever he was fighting frontally, would it also count against the supporting file?

I assume the opponent's dice depends only on what he is fighting frontally.


23
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Flexible free charge
« on: March 20, 2023, 08:54:01 AM »
5.C.4  Free charges do not cost any cards to declare, and are allowed in addition for the following situations:
.
.
. any SuG with an enemy SuG within 1 BW directly ahead.


Can a flexi TUG in SUG form use this free charge? 3.B only mentions forced charges (3.B.3).

Also it's not explicit whether they can do prompted charges against TUGs.

24
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Melee sequencing
« on: February 22, 2023, 11:31:43 AM »
In the diagram, A, B, C belong to player 1, XY to player 2.

Player 1 chooses C to fight first.

As C is fighting file XY, does this trigger all of XY's fights simultaneously, or only C vs Y?
If all of XY's fights are triggered, how would a "shove" by C be handled?

In the event, we fought only C vs Y. The result was C scored a "shove".

Now player 2 chooses a file to fight. Does he have to choose B because it is the "shove" combat or can he choose X because one of its fights is affected by the shove?

If he chooses X, does B get to roll its shove-benefitting dice before X gets its attack on A? (then if XY is broken by this attack, it does not roll against A)

25
Rules Queries and Clarifications / charging and being shot
« on: February 09, 2023, 03:26:59 PM »
If a 2 wide UG charges the middle 2 bases of a 6 wide line, all 6 are within 1 BW of the path of charge and can shoot?

26
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Generals mishaps
« on: January 28, 2023, 11:37:17 PM »
Just seeking confirmation I understand the rules as written:

General dies, he has UGs remaining:
Placed by camp with cards.
Cannot move.
He is not downgraded yet. 
Can play cards (out of command) but not discard them.
Is dealt cards as normal.
Not specified if he can gift or be gifted cards.
At the appointed time, he becomes the replacement general, is downgraded and placed with any UG in his command.

General dies, he has no UGs remaining:
Placed by camp with cards.
Cannot move.
He is not downgraded. 
Can play cards (out of command) but not discard them. (in practice only professionals can play cards)
Is never dealt new cards.
Not specified if he can gift or be gifted cards.
Is never placed with an UG.

General still alive, but no UGs remaining.
Functions as normal.

27
Rules Queries and Clarifications / shooting one file at a time
« on: January 27, 2023, 11:29:42 PM »
if you are shooting one file at a time, and the first file kills a base, exposing a second rank base, can your next file target the newly exposed base?

Do you have to decide what all files are shooting at before you roll any dice?

28
Rules Queries and Clarifications / shooting in woods and forests.
« on: January 27, 2023, 05:49:31 PM »
Not quite sure how it works.

Woods.

Front rank with any part in woods means file is limited to 2(SUG) or 1(TUG) rank shooting.
In a mixed TUG would a front rank spearman in woods limit 2nd and 3rd rank bowmen to only 1 rank shooting, even if they are in the open?

Any other rank with its front edge in the woods also means file is limited to 2(SUG) or 1(TUG) rank shooting.

Forest.

Front rank with any part in forest means file is limited to 1 rank shooting (= no shot for SUG).
In a mixed TUG would a front rank spearman in woods limit 2nd and 3rd rank bowmen to only 1 rank shooting, even if they are in the open?

Any other rank with its front edge in the forest can't shoot. But any other rank with its front edge entirely in the open can shoot.


Is that right?

29
Just trying to figure out how this is supposed to work.

To decide if a base is in or out of terrain:

A base rolling a dice or with a dice rolled against it uses the "line of fighting".

A supporting file front rank base (generating a dice for the supported file) uses the "line of fighting" for the base it is supporting, not its own front edge.

A base contributing because it is providing a rank needed for a claim uses its own front edge.

Is that correct?

30
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Revealed shooters
« on: January 25, 2023, 03:44:19 PM »
PDF 5.M.2 has

The path of charge does not change, so a file that is revealed by the responder moving does not shoot unless the path of charge comes within 1BW.

If I have a 2-deep foot SUG immediately in front of a bow TUG, then the path of charge (charging that SUG) is within 1 BW of the bow TUG.
Therefore it can shoot when the SUG has skirmished away.

Was that intended?

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5