Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - LawrenceG

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 29
1
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Re: Several queries
« on: April 23, 2024, 09:29:50 AM »


6.  Only against enemy SuGs.

I can't find this in the rules or errata. Could you point mw to where it says it?

2
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Re: Several queries
« on: April 15, 2024, 09:19:26 AM »
In this situation by the rules you generally cannot align as the front base in contact (for either UG) would move more than 1BW  (PDF edition page 74, 6.C:5).

I say "by the rules" because in a friendly game or in a situation where it won't make any difference, I will align by moving one UG back and across so that it is lined up frontally against the other base in contact.

Richard

However, note pdf 6.C.5.1 (my emphasis):

The 1BW restriction only applies to front rank bases in contact with an enemy UG. Any
other base movement cannot exceed 2BW. Front rank bases in contact with an enemy
flank but not as a valid flank charge may ignore the 1BW restriction to align with the
front edge of the file contacted if all other restrictions are obeyed.

3
Wouldn't it have been easier to say "Good point, we'll put it in the next version" rather than open the Pandora's box that is rules lawyering?

4
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Re: integral boltshooters
« on: April 04, 2024, 05:11:12 PM »
Bear in mind:

Appendix 1.O.2. Bases that have used shield cover this turn may not shoot (unless specified as an exception
in the Army Lists); bases behind such a base can shoot normally.

5
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Re: MF1 question
« on: April 04, 2024, 05:07:56 PM »
Who is A?

Good question. Should be X. I've done a correction.

6
Rules Queries and Clarifications / MF1 question
« on: April 04, 2024, 04:48:25 PM »
TUG X is fighting TUG V. Both are facing down the page, so X is in contact with V's rear. Only 1 base is in contact.

    XXX
VVV


Can X do an MF1 to put another base in combat?

  XXX
VVV

7
By the way, there is a typo in 7.D.3:

Shooting files must target the nearest base in the target file. As a result, they will generally
shoot at the front file unless they are shooting at them from behind their flank or rear. If
nearest base is not a valid target, for instance if it is engaged in combat, then the file may
not be targeted.

should be

Shooting files must target the nearest base in the target file. As a result, they will generally
shoot at the front base unless they are shooting at them from behind their flank or rear. If
nearest base is not a valid target, for instance if it is engaged in combat, then the file may
not be targeted.

8
7 D 5 applies and the base that covers the front of the shooting file must be shot at and, therefore, is the target file whose front base you must shoot at.

File is defined in the glossary as: A base facing to its front and all bases in the BW corridor behind them that are facing in
the same direction and in contiguous contact as a column of bases. A single corridor may
have files facing to front flank and rear (4 in principle - although hard to achieve).


OK, so if we have three bases ABC in a column facing to the left, then we have three possible files:
A and all bases behind it;
B and all bases behind it;
C.

If 7.D.5 applies, I shoot at file "B and all bases behind it" instead of 7.D.3's "A and all bases behind it", but how do I derive this from the rules, and why do I need to derive it from the rules instead of the rules explicitly telling me this?
If 7.D.5 does not apply, is there anything to stop me shooting at file "B and all bases behind it" anyway?


9
By the way, there's a typo in 7.D.6 "arc of file" should be "arc of fire".

10

Quote
Also situations where a base within 1 base-width directly in front covers most of the shooter's front, but another base is the nearest base.

7 D 5 applies and the base that covers the front of the shooting file must be shot at and, therefore, is the target file whose front base you must shoot at.

7 D 3 also still applies, though, so there are two different "must shoot at" bases. Can you choose which one to shoot at? If 7 D 3 does not apply in this case, it would be worth adding "(exception: see 7.D.5)" to 7 D 3.

11
pdf 7.D.3. Shooting files must target the nearest base in the target file. As a result, they will generally
shoot at the front file unless they are shooting at them from behind their flank or rear. If
nearest base is not a valid target, for instance if it is engaged in combat, then the file may
not be targeted.


There are situations where a file can have bases within firing arc, but the nearest base is out of arc.

Also situations where a base within 1 base-width directly in front covers most of the shooter's front, but another base is the nearest base.

Shooting is not allowed in either of these cases. Was that intended?

12
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Re: skirmishing: fleeing question
« on: April 01, 2024, 10:23:53 PM »
Kudos to Nik for making it clearer.



In your example if the move due to skirmishing is 1 BW in the terrain it will enter, then if the skirmishing UG meets the terrain having moved 1 BW or more then it stops at the edge.

13
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Re: When to check flank protection
« on: April 01, 2024, 10:17:22 PM »
You are over-complicating the situation.  Just determine whether the flank protection applies after all the charges have been moved.

Richard

So if it turns out to be protected, then it becomes a "contacted the flank but not a 'flank charge' ".

14
Is Pete Entwistle's army wrong date, or wrong ally?

15
List Queries / Re: 3101 Early Arab Conquest infantry
« on: March 17, 2024, 11:48:13 AM »

No Arab would actually be naked; the sun is far too strong to make it feasible in the Arabian peninsular - you would burn rapidly.  All Arabs wear loose clothing to protect from the sun. Negro troops might avoid burning but wouldn't be present in any numbers in conquest armies.


Richard

Arabs from south Arabia can be pretty dark. The Muslims did have rules obliging them to cover up, I think it is neck-to-knees for men, but earlier Arabs were more scantily clad, weren't they?  However, the ancients often used the term "naked" simply to mean "unarmoured" so that might be the sense in which it was being used in the quote.

By the way, armour-piercing arrows are less effective against unprotected targets than arrows designed for them. Modern day bow hunters don't use bodkins. 

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 29