Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - Bill

Pages: [1]
Rules Queries / Amushes and double moves
« on: August 16, 2021, 10:57:07 AM »
This came up in a game at the weekend. If you have a TUG in ambush and your opponent double move towards the piece of terrain, do they have to stop at the 4BW limit when doing the second move - bearing in mind they still cannot see the ambushing unit at that distance? We wondered whether this double move forces the ambushing player to reveal whether its a bluff or a TUG and/or fully reveal the ambushing unit although its still out of sight.

Rules Queries / Ambushes and visability at deployment
« on: August 11, 2021, 11:03:56 AM »
The rules state that Ambushes can only be placed where the ambush would not be visible from anywhere in the opponent's half of the table. If I want to place an ambush in a Wood or Forest the terrain chart simply says Troops visible at 2BW or 1 BW respectively. So looking from outside of the terrain piece, does this mean that to be in ambush I must place the card more than 2BW/1BW within the terrain, not on the edge.  Just looking for clarification that this is correct as the visibility rules are slightly short on detail. 

Rules Queries / Elephants and Generals
« on: July 12, 2021, 12:54:03 PM »
Am just wondering what the rationale is for not allowing Generals to fight in the front rank with Elephants (page 182), particularly for armies where they may have been mounted on Elephants e.g Classical Indian, Khmer etc?

Club Directory / Cheshire and Staffordshire Wargamers
« on: May 27, 2020, 03:03:26 PM »

Mortem et Gloriam:
There are 3 of us that play MeG pretty regularly in both in 15mm and 28mm.

Other Games
Many other rule sets and periods are played at the club ranging from ancients to Fantasy/ Sci-Fi. Popular at the moment are Sharp Practice, Wings of Glory, Saga, Vanguard, Blackstone Fortress, Cruel Seas, Armati, Battlegroup, Chain of Command, Napoleonics and SYW.

Meet generally Thu night 7.30 to 11pm

Northwood Parish Church Hall
Jervis Street
Stoke on Trent

Around a dozen regular members but can be quite a few more attendees on a club night. New members always welcome.

Bill Skinner - pm me for more information or visit our website cheshireandstaffordshirewargamers.club

Rules Queries / Shoot & Charge
« on: January 06, 2019, 01:54:31 PM »
A couple of queries came up in a recent game.

1. Two units facing each other, both have Shoot and Charge capability. Unit A declares a charge with shoot and charge on unit B. Can unit B do likewise, in other words both units charging at each other using shoot and charge. The rules seem only to limit the use of shoot and charge for Countercharges and intercepts so we couldn't see why unit B could not do this. Usually there is no advantage to a unit being charged also declaring a charge on the unit charging it, but with shoot and charge I could see it better than standing and shooting. Perhaps it depends on who gets to actually activate the charge first.

2. Does all shooting count as simultaneous when using shoot and charge. For example a mounted unit with Bows and shoot and charge, charges a Javelin armed foot unit from 3BW. The rule implies that shooting is done before the charge move, at which point the defending Javelins cannot shoot as they are out of range. The Javelins can of course shoot as the charge comes within 1 BW but the question is really about timing of any shooting effect on the defending unit and whether any casualties inflicted are taken off before the defending unit can fire as the charging unit is deemed to have shot first.


Pages: [1]