Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - Mago

Pages: [1]
Magna / Magna Flank reduction vs Maximus
« on: November 30, 2023, 08:26:21 PM »

Looking at the deployment zones for Magna, the flank zone is reduced by 2/3, rounded up, (playsheet Pre-Battle system). This gives a flank deployment zone of 7bw in Magna. However, the limit of 5bw for SUG only deployment is not starred/asterixed so is not reduced. This leaves only 2bw for any UG deployed on a flank, a very narrow window? Thoughts?

Rules Queries and Clarifications / Devasating charger characteristic
« on: June 25, 2023, 03:45:32 PM »

Inspired by NGR I have bought some chariots so my later Carthaginian army can also be fielded as early. I'm due to play the WarDr at the club on Monday and want to clarify some rules around the Punic Chariots. The ones I use are superior, short spear, melee expert, dev charger, shoot and charge (the works). They do not have to force charge but free charge as per the characteristic description on page 204 Compendium. Regarding skirmish/run away, on page 126 it says that dev chargers never run away/skirmish in any circumstances, any being underlined for emphasis. 1.3 below then talks about other missile focused cavalry/chariots that are missile focused being able to. Am I correct in taking these two together to mean that the dev charging Punic Chariots never skirmish/run away? Thanks.

Rules Queries and Clarifications / Tug pushing/Pulling a Sug.
« on: June 21, 2023, 10:01:43 AM »

Had a moment in a Pacto game last night so seeking clarification. Sug A is pulled/pushed by Tug A, same for Sug B and for Tug B next to them. Both Tugs and Sugs under command of two separate generals. During the game, Sug B is destroyed and Sug A finds itself in front of Tug B. Assuming all conditions are satisfied for pushing/pulling a sug, ie in edge contact, can Tug B move and push/pull sug A, even though the order/card for A's move comes from general B? My interpretation is that yes, this is correct. Any direct order to sug A to do anything other must come from their general, but they can be pushed/pulled from other Tugs not in their command. Thoughts?


Just asking if I have this correctly. A TUG of devastating chargers who also possess the shoot and charge characteristic. In the card phase at C3 a card is played to stop their forced charge. In the charge phase, their opponent TUG is prompted to charge them. I am presuming that as per the shoot and charge rules on page 207, the devastating chargers cannot use shoot and charge as it hasn't declared a charge (underlined in the rules). They would still claim devastating charger though as although they have been held, it is assumed that they 'charge' TUGS which are charging them.
Additionally, if the opposing TUG charges, can a charge marker be placed on the devastating chargers even though a card has been used previously to hold them, effectively wasting that card?

Rules Queries and Clarifications / Break off for devastating chargers
« on: November 16, 2022, 07:19:24 PM »

Having just returned from the Warfare comp, I'd like to get a clarification on F2-F4 break off moves. During a game, my devastating charger chariots broke an enemy cavalry unit and therefore pursued. As F1 control pursuit is not an option for dev chargers they charged straight into a line of waiting spear. We fought this combat in the next charge phase. As the chariots are now at some disadvantage to the spear, when I had a card I used an F2 break off. All well and good so far.
During the next game, my opponent was coincidentally on the next table and came over to say that we had done that wrong, that dev chargers cannot break off. I cannot see on the play sheet anything which supports this view. The rulebook page 145 also has no prohibition I can find on dev chargers not being allowed to break off nor in the dev charger characteristic on page 204. For dev chargers, like Gauls, surely breaking off so they reform and charge again is a sensible strategy for them, if somewhat tricky due to their tribal status?

Rules Queries and Clarifications / Shield cover
« on: October 30, 2022, 06:19:14 PM »
If a Tug has and uses the shield cover skill, does it get is bonus against shooters if the fire is coming from different directions, e.g. from front and behind if they are unfortunate enough to be fired on from two (or more directions)?

Pages: [1]