Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - Ambiorix

Pages: [1] 2 3
1
List Queries / Japanese lists
« on: June 25, 2023, 12:24:04 PM »
For my understanding, all 3 Japanese lists can have Murakami Clan allies and it specifically states in the coloured line ‘ MIXED TuG of 1/3 samurai (…) and TUG of ½ samurai’ (…)’ 
Is this difference intended, as the special rule states : Samurai in MIXED TuGs may only shoot in one rank. So does it mean it can shoot in 2 ranks if TUG of ½  samurai ?

Also I noticed there are no skirmishers in the list, is this an oversight ?  FYI, the Takeda Screen show Samurai Archers ahead of the Ashigaru Archers, operate some distance from the main body as 'skirmishers', acting as sharpshooters and snipers.

Thx for the clarification.

2
Rules Queries and Clarifications / PB against SUG
« on: January 11, 2023, 08:47:26 PM »
Hi,

PB seems to get an advantage against mtd SUG.
But if so, I do not understand the rationale.
PB have a longer range and are better at penetrating armour but it
also has a lower rate of fire, so why is this better against skirmishers
than other bows ?
Thx for the explanation.

3
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Warwagon as target
« on: December 08, 2022, 10:21:06 AM »
Hi,

Sorry for my ignorance, as I never used or faced a WW in MEG yet.
Does it has cover if shot at (like barricades) ?
Seems logic (at first glance) but is not explicitly mentioned in the rules I believe.

4
List Queries / Allies commanded by Sub general
« on: December 05, 2022, 05:15:19 PM »
Hi,

According to the list, the Late Med Polish army can have a Lithuanian Ally but is commanded by a Sub (not Ally) general).  As I am not 100% sure of all its implications, can you indicate which of the following statements are true or false (no, it is not a quiz or test  :)) :

1.   Lit. contingent conform to all rules of Allied troops (2-4 UGs, at least 50% of min…)
2.   Lit.  Subgen must be of same type (Prof. or Instinctive) as main Late Polish Army
3.   Pol. Army Cdr can also command troops of Lit. ‘Ally’
4.   Prof Pol Army Cdr can gift cards to Prof Lit. ‘Ally’ Subgen

Thx

5
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Break 0ff - Fleet of foot
« on: December 04, 2022, 06:29:00 PM »
Hi, according to the rules 'fleet of foot' does not apply when doing a break off.

Had today following situation :

EL fighting Swiss pike with fleet of foot.
So it is clear Pike cannot break off against EL, but quid El, can EL break off in this case (i.e. does Fleet of Foot applies here,
is EL faster or equal speed in this case, if the latter it cannot break off).

Thx for the clarification.

6
Rules Queries and Clarifications / C-in-C and SUG attack
« on: November 21, 2022, 03:31:11 PM »
Hello,
Just came back from a wonderful MEG Tournament in Athens, can highly recommend it (the good food and sunshine are complimentary).

During my games, following questions arose (although had no impact on the game outcome).

- A professional C-in-C commanding only one unit, lost this unit and was killed. As the rule states on p93, no replacement
  general will occur when all its units are lost.  But the argument was that he is a C-in-C so needs to be replaced, even if no
  units of his 'command' are remaining because the C-in-C commands ALL units in the army (except Allies). Seems logic.

- A SUG charges an enemy SUG (or TUG  1 base from breaking) who evades. While charging, the SUG would then contact
  another revealed (intact) enemy TUG but the SUG cannot contact in this charge 'as SUGs needs to stay 1 BW away' from the
  TUG.

Is the above correct, if so, where can I find it in the rules?
Thx for your guidance.

7
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Mixed bows
« on: November 20, 2022, 07:33:35 PM »
Hi,
If a mixed unit has a front rank of bow, second rank of non-missile and a third rank of bows, can it still shoot as 2 ranks deep?
The Overhead Firing section does not seem to prevent it...

Ambiorix, "I have a cunning plan"  :P

8
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Deep Water(s)
« on: October 25, 2022, 08:12:38 PM »
Again, during the recent Tournament I discovered beside a major river as a secured flank, additional Deep Water terrain pieces ('lakes' or 'major rivers')are possible.

So does it also mean you could have potentially 2 major rivers (1 on each flank), first the compulsory (if secured flank) and a second as an option (provided no 3/4 is rolled) ? 

9
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Clarries ! ?
« on: October 25, 2022, 07:58:05 PM »
Hi,
During the recent Paris tournament, a UK opponent had a document labelled 'Clarries' which included diagrams.
Apparently, these are on the MEG Website but I failed to find them.  I only have the 'Compendium Clarries', but these
are different (as no diagrams present). 
So where can I find them (dark web?) or was this an 'old' version.

Thx for showing me the light,

10
List Queries / Thai Kingdoms
« on: August 15, 2022, 02:05:10 PM »
Hi Richard,
following  your previous revision of the Thai Kingdoms list I would like to further suggest the following fine-tuning, for the next revision of army lists (end of the year?).
-   Allies : As the list name already suggests, there were several concurrent Thai Kingdoms, for example Kingdom of
        Sukothai having Lanna as mean vassal, while, as stated in the notes, later in 1378 AD becoming a vassal itself of the kingdom of Ayutthaya.  So surely at least an internal Ally is highly recommended.  In addition, external Allies, like Malay, Angkor Empire , and Bamarised Shan Kingdoms should be an option as well.
-   Elephants : contrary to Burmese and Indian EL, Thai EL crew had no bows (or javelins), just pole arms and their escort infantry were only armed with (2) swords. So I see no reason why Thai EL are attributed bows.
-   Cav : not sure why they are graded as ‘tribal’ (defined as ‘less able to carry out battle manoeuvres’?), given that the Tamrab Pichaisonkram (Art of War textbook) described regular exercises as part of the standing army, involving intricate battle arrays, so suggest to define them as formed instead.
-   Porters and musicians were often used at the back to simulate reserves, so suggest TUGs of Loose, tribal, poor unprotected, combat shy.
-   Handguns and artillery: these where introduced by Chinese in Ayutthaya and later by Portugese in 1511 AD and became the dominant weapon over time (not sure what is the ‘end date of MEG’). Even significant Portugese mercenaries with fire arms were employed. I suggest to at least as of that date to provide some SUG inf with handguns and a Lt Art. 
As already mentioned in a previous post in ‘Historical Enemies’, the current list of enemies for the Thai Kingdoms is incomplete.

Thx for your consideration,

11
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Charge declarations
« on: July 20, 2022, 03:56:02 PM »
I recently had the opportunity to play MEG with players in Thailand.
It is always interesting to experience how they play MEG in the far corners of the globe.
A difference (at least to me) popped up during the Charge Declaration phase where they also use ‘passes’ like in the Movement Phase (p86). Apparently a foreign visitor Simon H. told them so  :D.
Is this correct (can you ‘pass’ a declaration – max twice) if so, do we need an official clarification?

12
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Supporting Shatter/Shove
« on: April 08, 2022, 05:17:59 PM »
As this has been ruled differently in the past I would like to have an official clarification of the following :

Suppose 3 bases A B C fighting in front with shove or shatter capabilities.
A and B are facing enemies while C is supporting.

If C creates a shove/shatter (rolling S or Skull) as a supporting file/overlap, does A benefits from the
shatter/shove created by the combat of B, supported by C ?

Thx

13
Rules Queries and Clarifications / Wounded general
« on: April 08, 2022, 05:10:42 PM »
Hi,

Just wondering, if a general is wounded (or stunned) while fighting in the front rank, is he still considered
as fighting mandatory in the front rank ?  Or can he be 'involuntary' moved to the back (thus without a Kab for 'cowering')?

Ambiorix

14
Rules Queries and Clarifications / skirmisher screen
« on: February 19, 2022, 08:16:58 PM »
Hi,

Just discovered during a game that a C1 SUG move to allow a charge, is not possible with an inf SUG if screening a 2BW deep TUG (like 4 ranks Pike, 2 ranks CH/EL,...) because of the 1 BW reduction in speed during the 180 turn (M10).
So SUGs can only 'retire' through 3 ranks of inf or less.

Is this blocking of SUGs intentional ?

Thx for your clarification

15
Rules Queries and Clarifications / engaged pikes
« on: January 30, 2022, 06:35:00 PM »
Hi,

It was pointed out to me today that if the 4th rank of pikes aided to its charge then they are considered 'engaged' in the following combat and thus during subsequent movements, this 4th rank cannot do any MF1 moves (because 'engaged').
However I do not find this in the rules. The Clarifications do state that the 4th rank Pike are not 'contributing' to combat and thus a target for missiles but nothing on being locked in engagement...
Did I miss anything?  Because if this is true, quid about other troops like devastating charges in 2 ranks, will they be 'engaged' as well in the subsequent combat - as the 4th rank pikes ?
Thx for clarifying this.

Pages: [1] 2 3